Skip to main content

Make a complaint about the SSSC

We try to provide the best possible service in all areas of our work but accept that sometimes something may go wrong.

When this happens we’d like to know so we can try to put things right.

We have a guide for members of the public who want to make a complaint. Our complaints handling procedure has in-depth information on how we report on and learn from complaints. You can also read our reports on our complaints performance below:

Complaints Performance 01/04/2020 to 31/03/2021

Quarterly update for period 01/10/2020 to 31/12/2020

Quarterly update for period 01/07/2020 to 30/09/2020

Quarterly update for period 01/04/2020 to 30/06/2020

What do we treat as a complaint?

We define a complaint as an expression of dissatisfaction by one or more members of the public about our action or lack of action, or about the standard of service provided by or on behalf of the SSSC.

Your complaint may involve more than one part of the organisation or be about someone working on our behalf.

A complaint may relate to the following, but is not restricted to this list:

  • failure or refusal to provide a service
  • inadequate service quality, or an unreasonable delay in providing a service
  • dissatisfaction with one of our policies or its impact on the individual
  • failure to properly apply law, procedure or guidance when delivering services
  • failure to follow the appropriate administrative process
  • conduct, treatment by or attitude of a member of staff or contractor; or
  • disagreement with a decision, (except where there is a statutory procedure for challenging that decision, or an established appeals process followed throughout the sector).

Anonymous complaints

We will investigate anonymous complaints if possible, however the fact it is anonymous nature may prevent a full investigation.

Stages of a complaint

Stage one

We want to resolve complaints as quickly and as simply as possible. Please raise your complaint with the member of SSSC staff you have been dealing with. If you feel you can't complain directly to them, please refer your complaint to their manager. You can find out who this is by contacting the SSSC by email: complaints@sssc.uk.com or by telephoning 0345 60 30 891.

Let us know what the problem is, how it happened, and what you would like us to do to sort it out.

We will give you our decision within five working days. If we need more time to investigate we will tell you.

If we can't resolve your complaint at this stage, we will explain why and tell you what you can do next. We might suggest you take your complaint to stage two.

Stage two

Stage two deals with two types of complaint:

  • those that have not been resolved at stage one
  • those that are complex and require detailed investigation.

When using stage two we will:

  • acknowledge receipt of your complaint within three working days
  • where appropriate, discuss your complaint with you to understand why you remain dissatisfied and what outcome you are looking for
  • give you a full response to the complaint as soon as possible and within 20 working days from the day we received your complaint.

If our investigation will take longer than 20 working days, we will tell you and agree revised time limits.

If at the end of stage two you remain dissatisfied you may complain to the Scottish Public Services Ombudsman (SPSO).

How to complain

Use the form below to make a complaint about the SSSC. If you want to complain or raise a concern about a social service worker please complete the raising a concern about a worker form here.

Online contact form

You can use the form below to contact us selecting your type of enquiry from the dropdown.
Please complete all the fields marked *. This will help us to deal with your enquiry more efficiently.

 

Thank you for contacting us.

We have received your complaint and a member of our team will be in touch with you.

We aim to respond to all complaints within five working days.

Thank you for contacting us.

We aim to respond to all email enquiries within seven working days.

If you would like to update your details such as your address, contact details or employment you can now do this yourself online.

Please go to the Sequence portal and either log into your existing account or create an account to provide us with an update.

Thank you for contacting us.

We aim to respond to all email enquiries within seven working days.

Do you want to make a complaint about a service?

If you have any concerns about a regulated care service in Scotland you can:

Complaints performance

Read our reports on our complaints performance.

Complaints Performance 01/04/2020 to 31/03/2021

Quarterly update for period 01/10/2020 to 31/12/2020

Quarterly update for period 01/07/2020 to 30/09/2020

Quarterly update for period 01/04/2020 to 30/06/2020

Registration

Find out more about registering with the SSSC including what qualifications you need and how much it costs.

Supporting the workforce

Discover our free learning resources and how our work can support your learning and development.

Fitness to practise

Read more about our fitness to practise process, registrant responsibilities and how to make a complaint about a worker.