Please note: There are two parts to manager's qualification requirements. You must hold or gain a practice and a management qualification.

Practice qualification

  • SVQ Social Services and Healthcare at SCQF Level 9

Qualifications also accepted

  • BA (Hons) Social Work (or equivalent)

Qualifications meeting requirements of other regulatory bodies:

  • A qualification meeting the registration requirements for the following professional groups regulated by the Health and Care Professions Council:
    • Occupational Therapists
    • Art, Music and Drama Therapists
    • Physiotherapists
    • Speech and Language Therapists
    • Practitioner Psychologists
  • A qualification meeting the registration requirements of the General Teaching Council (Scotland), Nursing and Midwifery Council or the General Medical Council
  • Degree/Diploma in Community Education as recognised by the Standards Council for Community Learning and Development for Scotland Approvals Committee

If you have any questions about your qualifications being suitable for SSSC registration, please contact us using the web form on our Contact us page.

Legacy qualifications (past qualifications we continue to accept)

  • BA (Hons)/Diploma Social Pedagogy (University of Aberdeen)
  • BA Community Care (Robert Gordon University)
  • BA/Diploma Curative Education (University of Aberdeen)
  • Diploma in Domiciliary Care Management
  • NVQ Community Justice (Work with Offending Behaviour) (Level 4)
  • NVQ Community Justice (Work with Victims, Survivors and Witnesses) (Level 4) to include or with the addition of a value base unit ('O' unit or Principles of Care)
  • SVQ/NVQ 4 Care
  • SVQ/NVQ 4 Health and Social Care at SCQF Level 9
  • SVQ/NVQ 4 Community Justice (Work with Offending Behaviour)
  • SVQ/NVQ 4 Community Justice (Work with Victims, Survivors and Witnesses)

Management qualification

  • BA with Honours in Social Care Management
  • SVQ Care Services Leadership and Management at SCQF Level 10
  • SVQ Management SCQF Level 9 (GM27 24) plus the following two units:
    • H7LG 04 (SCDLMCA1) Manage and Develop Yourself and Your Workforce within Care Services at SCQF Level 10
    • H7LH 04 (SCDLMCB1) Lead and Manage Practice that Promotes the Safeguarding of Individuals at SCQF Level 10
  • Any award in management that is certificated at or above SCQF Level 9* (minimum of 60 credits) showing evidence the award has been mapped against the National Occupational Standards (NOS): Leadership and Management for Care Services

*Please note that on 1 January 2020, the minimum SCQF level increased from 8 to 9. We continue to accept qualifications that met the old requirement as long as individuals achieved them before 31 December 2019. 

Legacy qualifications (management)

    • SVQ 4 Management at SCQF level 9 (GC47 24) and all previous versions of the SVQ/NVQ 4 Management
    • SVQ 4 Leadership and Management for Care Services (LMCS) at SCQF Level 10
    • SVQ 4 Registered Manager in Health and Social Care (Registered Manager's Award)
    • An assessed programme of study (either through a taught programme or by portfolio) where a minimum of 60 credit points covers management, at post-qualifying or advanced Level, awarded by the PQ Consortium for Social Work in Scotland

    The following Housing specific qualifications will be acceptable as management awards if gained prior to September 2009. If gained after 2009 there must be evidence that the award has not been revised between September 2009 – and 31st December 2015. If revised, it must meet the mapping requirement. All awards must meet the mapping requirement if gained after 31st December 2015. These awards are only acceptable as management awards in Housing Support Services.

    • Chartered Institute of Housing Undergraduate Professional Diploma/SCQF Level 9 and 10.
    • Chartered Institute of Housing Postgraduate Professional Diploma/SCQF Level 11
    • A qualification meeting the corporate membership requirements of the Chartered Institute of Housing