Skip to main content

Maree Todd MSP, Minister for Children and Young People has announced the appointment of Julie Grace, Lynne Huckerby, Peter Murray, Rona King and Russell Pettigrew as SSSC Council Members.

Julie Grace has worked in the further education sector for over 25 years and is currently Director of Curriculum and Attainment at Dundee and Angus College.   She is also a Board Member of the Developing Young Workforce Regional Group. 

Lynne Huckerby has 27 years’ experience of working in NHS Scotland across a range of primary and secondary care as well as in national roles. In her current role as Director of Service Development with NHS 24, she provides executive leadership to the delivery of the Change Portfolio.

Peter Murray spent most of his working life in the fire service, retiring in 2013 as an Assistant Chief Fire Officer in the Scottish Fire and Rescue Service. In 2013, he took up a role as a Board Member in NHS Lothian. He is the Vice-Chair of the East Lothian Integrated Joint Board (IJB) and has recently taken up a position on the Edinburgh IJB. He is also currently the Chair of the Chairs and Vice-Chairs of the IJB’s in Scotland.

Rona King worked for NHS Scotland for over 35 years and held Director of Human Resources positions in Fife for 19 years. She was the Deputy Chief Executive of NHS Fife before retiring two and a half years ago. Rona was previously a Non-Executive Director of the Skills for Health Board. She now runs a management consultancy company that provides senior HR and staff governance support to organisations.

Russell Pettigrew spent his whole career in public finance, including local government, new town development corporations and the NHS and has been a qualified accountant for almost 40 years. In NHS Fife, he became Director of Finance in 2000, holding that Executive Board position until he retired in 2008.  He then spent time providing consultancy support in the NHS and held a non-executive appointment in NHS Health Scotland as Vice-Chair, the Scottish Police Authority and the Scottish Housing Regulator.

The appointments are for three years and run from 1 September 2019 to 31 August 2022.